Housewives Extinct?

the-pride-of-the-housewife-1930It goes without saying that one has to have a lot of courage to be a housewife. I’ve sometimes contemplated the idea of writing stories about the housewife as an extinct form of human being–myself being one of them. But despite the challenges, I prefer being at home with my children and being a homemaker than doing anything else. I am not (as yet) prepared to back down. Sometimes I get a “sweaty” feeling that I’m not really doing anything (even though paradoxically I seem to always have more than I could possibly do, no matter how hard I work) and that I am getting by without working as hard as those who combine a career with having a family. The issue is sometimes frighteningly subjective. Perhaps there is no ultimate confirmation available to those who choose to stay at home. Perhaps that is one of the most challenging aspects of the vocation. For myself, I’ve found in my life as a housewife something that I have not found anywhere else. It pops up eventually when I ask myself why I am doing what I am doing… The home is a reference point for a religious life and a real challenge to everything “natural” (such as looking for comfort for myself). It is, in fact, a supernatural vocation, which is why it requires the supernatural grace of the Sacrament of Matrimony to be a successful vocation. It is a true life of service (or can be). It also contains aspects of the religious vocation, combining with the life of service the humiliations of being neglected. I am hidden, forgotten, thought to be extinct, and yet I am alive and active. Even though I don’t exactly know why I am at home, as long as I am, I can at least say that I am one of those who are… and then, housewives aren’t extinct after all!

One thought on “Housewives Extinct?

  1. Vackert skrivet!

    Skickat från Yahoo Mail på Android

    Från:”Clara MB Fleischmann” Datum:sön, maj 2015 klockan 8:51 Ämne:[New post] Housewives Extinct?

    clarafleischmann posted: “It goes without saying that one has to have a lot of courage to be a housewife. I’ve sometimes contemplated the idea of writing stories about the housewife as an extinct form of human being–myself being one of them. But despite the challenges, I prefer b”

Leave a Reply

